PUBLIC LAND BOWHUNTERS
Welcome to the PUBLIC LAND BOWHUNTERS forum.

On behalf of public land bowhunters, throughout our great nation, I work on this forum almost daily. I am striving to make this forum the very best all public land, bowhunting forum on the internet.

Look around, see if THIS FORUM is something YOU want to be a part of. Registration is fast, simple, and absolutely free, so join our forum today! All the best.-
Dave Mullins Forum Creator/Admin/Mod

Best time to scout

View previous topic View next topic Go down

Best time to scout

Post by Wolfshead on Sat Sep 15, 2012 10:04 am

I know that everyone has their opinion on things and I would like to hear yours if you would like to share.
I am asking in preperation for next season as I am just beginning this quest as a tradbow hunter, and basically as a hunter for that matter.
When is the best time to scout?
I am refering to mostly whitetail deer, but will listen to elk, blacktail, etc...

FORUM STATE REP
FORUM STATE REP

Back to top Go down

Re: Best time to scout

Post by Waiting4Fall on Sat Sep 15, 2012 3:01 pm

Deer- my favorite to scout is immediately after the season. If the snow is on, all the better. I do most of my scouting at that time. Throughout the Spring/Summer I will covertly fine tune spots.

FORUM CREATOR/ADMIN/MOD
FORUM CREATOR/ADMIN/MOD

http://www.publiclandbowhunters.com

Back to top Go down

Post by SlowBow on Sat Sep 15, 2012 6:34 pm

I scout at anytime I have the chance. While I have spots picked out well ahead of time, and do a lot of scouting immediately after the season is over, the food source changes so radically from fall to winter to spring that if you have an early start to your season lots of those spots you scouted post season may not have any activity at all until the rut or late season.

The summer heat can beat you up, but scouting in it is the only way to find late summer feed patterns.