PUBLIC LAND BOWHUNTERS
Welcome to the PUBLIC LAND BOWHUNTERS forum.

On behalf of public land bowhunters, throughout our great nation, I work on this forum almost daily. I am striving to make this forum the very best all public land, bowhunting forum on the internet.

Look around, see if THIS FORUM is something YOU want to be a part of. Registration is fast, simple, and absolutely free, so join our forum today! All the best.-
Dave Mullins Forum Creator/Admin/Mod

Camo Opinions

Go down

Camo Opinions

Post by nwwaterpolo11 on Wed May 02, 2012 1:31 pm

What is your opinion on camo while hunting. Is there a specific pattern you swear by? Do you insist on wearing a matching set? Or is camo just camo(it doesn't matter) Personally, I buy what's on sale and comfy... So Tre-Bark shirt. Longleaf brown pattern pants. Realtree Timber rubber boots. How about the rest of you?
avatar
nwwaterpolo11
NEW MEMBER
NEW MEMBER

Posts : 6
Join date : 2012-04-29
Location : Chicago's North Shore

Back to top Go down

Re: Camo Opinions

Post by Uncle Bob on Thu May 03, 2012 8:52 am

I think the camo stuff is to capture the hunter not the hunted. Ever see a deer disappear in front of your eyes? They don't wear camo. LOL

_________________
PUBLIC LAND BOWHUNTERS: MASSACHUSETTS CHAPTER REPRESENTATIVE
avatar
Uncle Bob
STATE REP/FOUNDING MEMBER
STATE REP/FOUNDING MEMBER

Posts : 193
Join date : 2012-01-23
Age : 65
Location : Mansfield, Mass.

Back to top Go down

Re: Camo Opinions

Post by tpcowfish on Thu May 03, 2012 9:22 am

Dont really know the correct answer, but i wore some different camo last season for one day, That is touted to be great, and was busted by a small fork horn, looked up at me and was gone. Where i have never been busted wearing my old camo, having deer look up, and not see me, dont know if it was the pattern, material, or color. needless to say, i probably wont wear it again, but would like to find the answer

tpcowfish
ACTIVE POSTER LEVEL 1
ACTIVE POSTER LEVEL 1

Posts : 53
Join date : 2011-12-14

Back to top Go down

Re: Camo Opinions

Post by Waiting4Fall on Sun May 06, 2012 10:22 am

A long time ago I realized that for treestand hunting, just about anything will work. That being said, I like wool, plaid earth tones, & an old favorite spray painted camo pullover I've killed a few deer in. I still love trebark camo too! Urban camo and other military camo, for as cheap as I can find it.

One thing I don't skimp on are top of the line boots & the best wool socks available. Camo is purely personal preference. Scent control & moving at the right times are much more important than what you're wearing. Just my input, it's all good.









Last edited by Dave Mullins on Sun May 06, 2012 6:54 pm; edited 1 time in total

_________________
"We will be forever known, by the tracks we leave behind."- Native American Quote
avatar
Waiting4Fall
FORUM CREATOR/ADMIN/MOD
FORUM CREATOR/ADMIN/MOD

Posts : 2441
Join date : 2011-12-13
Age : 48
Location : Charleston, WV

http://www.publiclandbowhunters.com

Back to top Go down

Re: Camo Opinions

Post by Uncle Bob on Sun May 06, 2012 3:03 pm

tpcowfish I don't think the deer busted you because of the pattern of your camo. More than likely it was your silhouette or it caught some movement.

_________________
PUBLIC LAND BOWHUNTERS: MASSACHUSETTS CHAPTER REPRESENTATIVE
avatar
Uncle Bob
STATE REP/FOUNDING MEMBER
STATE REP/FOUNDING MEMBER

Posts : 193
Join date : 2012-01-23
Age : 65
Location : Mansfield, Mass.

Back to top Go down

Re: Camo Opinions

Post by tpcowfish on Mon May 07, 2012 9:12 am

uncle bob, I will say it was predator fall gray, evening hunt, grey looked almost white, and when i walked out in moonlite, it seemed to be glowing.where the white was,went back to the old army surplus stuff, and mossy oak ect. Dunno if they saw what i saw, (the glowing), I did wash in atsko prior to using it, Only the deer knows i guess

tpcowfish
ACTIVE POSTER LEVEL 1
ACTIVE POSTER LEVEL 1

Posts : 53
Join date : 2011-12-14

Back to top Go down

Re: Camo Opinions

Post by Spauldo on Mon May 07, 2012 11:34 pm

I use old school plaid checked wool in the cold and some aftermarket predator camo stuff I picked up for cheap and my old army stuff. I hold to what Dave said about scent and movement times.
avatar
Spauldo
STATE REP/FOUNDING MEMBER
STATE REP/FOUNDING MEMBER

Posts : 160
Join date : 2012-01-27
Age : 44
Location : New Hampshire

Back to top Go down

Re: Camo Opinions

Post by Sponsored content


Sponsored content


Back to top Go down

Back to top

- Similar topics

 
Permissions in this forum:
You cannot reply to topics in this forum